Barley & Lentil Tomato Stew

I was working the other day on the farm, and I was burning tons of energy picking over ripe tomatoes that we usually just throw to the chickens, slicing and dicing them for a tomato stew. Hauling bins and bins of tomatoes from the field to the outdoor kitchen burned all the energy I gained from my lunch right out of me. And cutting up tons of tomatoes was just making my stomach go crazy! So I went in the kitchen (inside), and was looking for something to make with the tomatoes, found some barley and mixed lentil and instantly thought cook everything and just mix it in a bowl together. It came out amazing!

For this first barley & lentil tomato stew, I used huge over ripe heirloom tomatoes from the farm I work at. But, for the recipe I made last night for dinner, I used the better boys that I could harvest from my garden.

They both tasted great, but I prefer heirlooms. They’re just so tasty and juicy!

Yields: 4 hearty servings | Prep./cook time: approx. 25-30 minutes 

Ingredients: 

12 medium better boy tomatoes (sliced & diced)DSC_0472

Italian Tuscan seasoning, or (rosemary oil, tomato flecks, dried italian herbs, sea salt, and lemon peels) / season to taste!

2-3 tbsp of Olive Oil (depends how many tomatoes you’re using)

Put your olive oil in a medium sauce pot, on med-low heat, throw in your tomatoes and seasoning, stirring occasionally, while it turns into a liquid-type consistency. Or a consistency of your liking; I left a few tomatoes fully diced. Turn heat down to low (or in the warm zone) until ready to serve.

1/2 cup Red Split Lentils  DSC_0481

1/2 cup Small Whole Green Lentils

DSC_04851 bag of TJ’s 10 minute Barley (or 8.8 oz)

3 1/2 cups of water or vegetable broth

Mix all dry ingredients into a bowl. DSC_0480

Add all ingredients into a pot, on high heat, bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low (cover with lid) and simmer for 10-12 minutes.

SERVE HOT! 

DSC_0496

This meal is packed with so much fiber and nutrients, you can eat as much as you want!

Note: I used all the tomatoes I could harvest from my garden, But I recommend 10 large tomatoes (heirlooms are amazing), or 15-20 medium sized tomatoes (better boys or early girls).

Leave a Reply

