Cinnamon Grahams Crumble Apple Pie

Apple Pie was on my mind all day yesterday, because I was watching one of my favorite TV shows and they were eating apple pie on a Christmas episode and I instantly started searching for different vegan recipes. It was hard to find one that catered to my nutrition and health choices, so I took bits and pieces from different recipes and it turned into a magical vegan apple pie that I’m extremely proud of and friends and family seem to be enjoying it, especially my brother! I was thinking it better be delicious since I was cooking til 1 in the morning!!

Prep: 20-25 minutes | Cook time: 45-50 minutes

For this recipe, and since it was my first time actually making a pie, I bought Whole Wheat (animal product-free) crust from Sprouts, going to get lots more since they’re on sale til the end of the month! (:

I bought 6 Fuji apples from Trader Joe’s and sliced them thin, discarding the core, and that was enough for two pies! Which was great because I had to happily give a lot of slices to friends and family!

Apple Pie Filling Ingredients: 

DSC_0811

DSC_0810

  • 3/4 c. date (or brown) sugar
  • 1/4 c. whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2-1 tsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp vegan butter (optional, I didn’t use any)

The best part about the filling is that you can make more than you need and freeze or can for later!!

– Combine all ingredients into a large mixing bowl, and add in your apple slices and mix to get all the apples nice and covered.

– Fill the pie crust(s) to the top

DSC_0803

– Cover with another pie crust (crumbled or whole). Or you can use Trader Joe’s Cinnamon Grahams Crackers and crumble them and cover the pie (this is what I used and it came out great!)

DSC_0808

– Cover with tin foil to avoid burning the crumbs on top

– Cook on 350F for 45-55 minutes, or you can cook it faster for a shorter period of time, but I recommend cooking it slow.

– Ten minutes before it’s done, remove the tin foil and put back in the over for the additional 10 minutes. Let cool for about 8-10 minutes. Serve, share, & enjoy!

DSC_0813

5 thoughts on “Cinnamon Grahams Crumble Apple Pie

Leave a Reply

