TOFU SCRAMBLE

Family Update: I showed my family the movie “Forks Over Knives”, my mom didn’t stay to watch the entire video, but my step dad did. He even ask me to pause it so he could go feed the horses then come back to watch it after. And at the very end of the movie, he said:

“Well…I guess this is the way to go, huh?”

And I was so thrilled and happy that he good see through the people in the video, that eating plant based whole foods is the way to go to better not only your health, inner/outer appearance, but also your mind, your vision, your aches and pains. Plant based whole foods are the answer.

And the other day he even asked me if when I was going to start cooking vegetables because we’ve been eating tacos for days! If you haven’t already, check out my vegan taco recipe!

If you haven’t seen Forks Over Knives or read “The China Diet Study”, do both!! Or at least watch the movie!

So the very next morning I made some Boca vegan breakfast sausages and a tofu scramble with fresh dino kale from the garden!

If you’re a plant-based vegan, that loved eggs, like I did, you have to try the tofu scramble!

Here’s the recipe:

1 pound of extra-firm tofu (I only used about a half of it)

3 tbsp nutritional yeast

1 tbsp dijon mustard (opt. I didn’t use it)

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp tumeric

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp salt

4 leafy dino kale leaves

*add or remove to taste

I just threw the tofu in a skillet on med heat, as it was cooking, I started to smash it gently with a fork to try and make a scrambled “egg-like” shape to fool my family into thinking it’s eggs.

DSC_0874

Add in all your spices. Cook for about 10-15 minutes, until texture is where you like it. Add kale in last just to heat up.

Serve with some tea or OJ!

DSC_0873

2 thoughts on “TOFU SCRAMBLE

    1. This is so awesome! Had a blast ready your answers! I will get this done soon! Have a lupus walk to go to in SF tomorrow and a farm to fork tonight. But I’ll find the time.

      And yes, going with processed vegan foods is not my forte, but because they are transitioning, it truly helps. Bought my mom the “Afro-Vegan” cook book by Bryant Terry last night and got it personally signed to her at his cooking demo, so hopefully that inspires her to go Vegan or at least try new, healthier, things in the kitchen!

Leave a Reply

