Vegan Sweet Potato Pie!!

It’s getting real close to Thanksgiving and all I’ve been thinking about lately is the sweet potato pies my family will be making filled with butter, sugar, eggs, and dairy. So I thought it would be a good idea to practice on my own sweet potato recipe to make for my own personal Thanksgiving meal.

I’ve been working on some recipes for a potential cookbook in the future and I’ve been realizing how much patience, and trial & error goes with cooking plant-based. We can’t just use eggs to make things just stick, and we can’t just use loads of butter to make things taste better. It’s truly a science, and i love the process because you discover so much more than you thought you would in the beginning.

DSC_0966

With that said, this pie didn’t come out like I thought it would on the first attempt, but letting it sit out for a day and then sit in the fridge for another day or two made it work. But ideally, we don’t want to have to prepare something 3 days in advance, we want to prepare, cook, and eat right then. So I figured out what would of made this recipe work with a little more patience and a lot more trials.

Ingredients:

Animal product free whole wheat pie crust

2-3 small-medium sweet potatoes (boiled, peeled)

2 1/2-3 tbsp corn starch (whisked together with 1/4 c. cold water)

3/4 c. almond milk (or coconut milk)

3/4 c. date sugar (or brown)

2 tbsp cinnamon

2 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 tbsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cloves (optional)

DSC_1039

I’m still trying to perfect this recipe, but didn’t want to wait to share with all of you! Just experiment with the ingredients until your consistency isn’t too thick or too watery. Once I perfect this recipe, ideally before Thanksgiving, I will do a follow up posting. But, once the pie was at the right consistency after sitting it out then refrigerating it, it was almost gone before I could get a picture. Definitely just as good as a traditional non-vegan sweet potato pie!

Leave a Reply

