Oatmeal Peanut Butter Chocolate Cookies

I’m always in the mood for cookies.

Every time I bake cookies I instantly think of the movie Many Moore starred in, Because I Said So. The scene where she bakes cookie before her date arrives just so her house can smell like freshly baked cookies. In the movie, her baking experience is passed down from her mother, Diane Keaton. I didn’t grow up where homemade cookies were a huge thing. But after cooking often and baking even more often, if I do start a family, in the future, I want them to grow up remembering that I would bake homemade cookies in the morning just to make the house smell amazing!

And on that note, while I was baking these delicious cookies, my brother walked in the house and instantly said, “smells good in here”.

DSC_1030

– 1 tbsp ground flaxseeds

– 3 tbsp water

– 1/4 c. vegan butter or coconut oil

– 1/4 c. peanut butter (or almond butter)

– 3/4 c. brown sugar

– 1 tsp vanilla extract

– 1/2 tsp baking powder

– 1/2 tsp baking soda

– 1/2 tsp fine grain sea salt

– 2 c. gluten free rolled oats (processed into oat flour)

– 1/4 c. dark chocolate bar (processed into chunks)

DSC_1032

Combine your 1 tbsp of ground flaxseeds with 3 tbsp of water (let sit and thicken for at least 5 minutes)

Mix ingredients one-by-one: vegan butter, peanut butter, brown sugar, vanilla extract, baking powder/soda, sea salt, oats, and dark chocolate chunks.

Roll into golf ball size balls and place on baking sheet with parchment paper.

This is not necessary, but I just gently press them down just a tad.

Bake for 12-15 minutes on 350F.

*If you want them to be crunchier, cook for at least 14 to 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

