Strawberry Shortcake Smoothie

I love bananas, and I love strawberries (when they’re in season). But, because they’re not in season, I’ve been craving them! Since frozen strawberries are picked at their peak of ripeness, this was the closest I’d get to fresh strawberries. So I picked up a bag from the local Trader Joe’s after yoga one morning.

So natural transition here, do you remember those Strawberry shortcake ice cream bars the ice cream truck would always have?

nestle-bar-strawberry-small

Well, I remember them, and I liked them, but ask my mom or my best friend, every time the ice cream truck came by, I ran out there with two bucks and ran back in the house with this guy!

choc_eclair_03the famous, Chocolate Eclair!! I mean this was the best ice cream bar in the whole damn truck. I love it! So I’ll be making this guy into a plant-based smoothie soon!

But, for now, I have mastered the Strawberry Shortcake, and it was too simple, don’t know why I’ve never done it before.

strawberry shortcake smoothie

Yields: 1 serving (about 2 c.)

  • 1 banana
  • 4-5 frozen organic strawberries (or fresh when they’re in season)
  • 1/2 c. vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 c. chopped Red Russian Kale
  • 2-3 tbsp. chia seeds

This smoothie is packed with protein, phytonutrients, and protein, but if you want more protein, substitute for soy milk instead! Taste great either way!!

Leave a Reply

